What Made Me Start My Own Blog

Hello everyone, today’s post is a more personal one, I thought I would share with you my reasons for starting this blog and what encouraged me to pursue my dream.

As someone who has had weight and confidence issues her whole life, I can tell you that I’ve toyed with the idea of a personal blog for a very long time. Watching people on the Internet who found strength and courage to expose themselves almost completely, was fascinating and inspiring at the same time. Truth is, I am the type of person who cares too much about what other people think about me, which is why I let others’ perspective affect me. I felt either too fat, too ugly, or too shy to get noticed or to express myself more freely, too scared to make decisions which would be criticized or deemed who knows how by others. So I found it more comfortable to stay in my little shell; I had my family and my friends (which are the best by the way) and thus, I felt content in my own little bubble.

But last year, this bubble went puff, and I found myself in a situation where I would either adapt, carry on and grow up, or I would slowly sink. So I gradually started taking more risks (as small as they probably were, they felt huge to me), getting out of my comfort zone (as I am a really anxious person, definitely not a risk taker ) and becoming more open to opportunities.

And this is exactly what my blog represents: an opportunity to express myself and to show others what I am passionate about (even though I am in no way, shape or form an expert). It’s my little virtual corner where I share my ideas, my thoughts, my feelings. My passion for makeup and fashion started a few years back, but I definitely started taking steps in that direction quite recently. I enjoy makeup the most (though, hilariously, by the time I wrote this blog, I had no post on it), playing with it, experimenting, even if I am not one to go with crazy colors, and watching makeup gurus on the Internet. So SmileLoveLiveForever is a blog where I am able to make my preferences and passions be heard.

It’s a new gateway, one that provides me more confidence in myself, more opportunities to explore my hobbies. And to be honest, I was completely overjoyed to see the support people have shown me thus far since starting the blog.

In the past year I feel like I have grown a lot, I have matured as a human being and as an adult who is ready to assume responsibility.

So, if you are like me, I would advise you to stop caring as much what other people think about you and start smiling while you draw and pursue the path to your dreams and passions. Just do what you want and what makes you happy, be who you want to be, because as a quote that I absolutely love says:

Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don’t matter, and those who matter don’t mind.” – Bernard M. Baruch

Nico

2 thoughts on “What Made Me Start My Own Blog

Leave a Reply

