My Top 5 Books

Being a nerd at heart and having graduated from the Faculty of Letters, I can say that I’ve managed to cover quite an array of books and authors. Which is why I think a top 5 of my favorite books is long due to be written on this blog. So without any further ado, here are my favorite 5 books!

5. The Harry Potter series – J.K.Rowling

I would be lying if I didn’t say that I was the biggest potterhead way back in the day! Not just me; most of my friends were, and the great moments we spent together talking about the universe and inventing our own little stories make me think fondly of this series and the beautiful memories it has provided me. I secretly squealed from excitement when I heard a new movie will come out in the future. So, go ahead and consider me nerdy (and probably lame) but hey! I’m still waiting for my Hogwarts letter!

4. Wuthering Heights – Emily Brontë

This classic was on our list in the 2nd year of uni, and I have to say, I instantly fell in love with it! The characters are so flawed and different, the atmosphere so captivating and tense at the same time, and the love story between Heathcliff and Catherine shows that even selfish people can have true and deep feelings for each other! The ending is sad and fulfilling at the same time! A must read!

3. The Shining – Stephen King

So, if you know me personally, you know I have an unhealthy obsession for everything horror-ish and creepy. Which is why this book finds a well-deserved (at least, in my opinion) spot in my top 5. It is such a captivating and eerie story, and it will definitely keep you glued to it ’till you finish the book. I also watched the movie, and even though the reviews are mixed, I kind of liked the different take and modifications, as it gave me an element of surprise! That being said, I recommend it to those of you who are like me and love a good ghost story!

2. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen

Another book that I was introduced to during my years at uni (obviously I knew about it but hadn’t read up to that point). I LOVED IT! The atmosphere, the characters, the different sub-plots made this book one of my all-time favorites until quite recently. (that is until I read my no. 1 book) I have to say that Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy are probably my OTP (one true pairing haha). An ageless, classical novel, that will capture the hearts of its readers for sure!

1. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close – Jonathan Safran Foer

A novel that hit close to home with its synopsis, and that mesmerized me with its cleverness and creativity! I couldn’t help but identify so much with the main protagonist, Oskar, and his task of finding ways to deal with the loss of a loved one. It is filled with moments of laughter, cries, revelations, it is funny, sad, inspirational. Big thank you to my friend who gifted it to me!I full heartedly recommend this novel, I am sure you will love it!

So, these were my favorite 5 books! Can you recommend me some that you read and loved? Which is your top 5? Hope you liked this blog post, and I will catch up with you all really soon!

Lots of Love,

Nico

2 thoughts on “My Top 5 Books

Leave a Reply

