Marina & Girl Online – Book Reviews

Hello everyone, these past few weeks I have been trying to catch up with my reading, so here are my thoughts on the last 2 books that I have finished.

IMG_0331resize

1. Marina by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

What starts like a love story between two adolescents, soon turns into a mysterious, fantastical novel, in which the histories of so many characters are embedded into a fascinating story. The transition from the real into the fantastical is so swift and easy, that you find yourself trapped into nightmarish scenes, not even knowing how you ended up in there. The mystery surrounding Marina and the villain, the naivety and innocence of the protagonist, Oscar, set the events of the novel forward, while in the company of pleasant and intriguing characters. I don’t want to spoil anything away, so I will just say that, while the beginning of the book may seem slow, the later half is full of action, captivating stories, mysteries and rewarding reveals. Definitely recommending the novel, if you are looking for a story which blends realism with the fantastic quite well and easily. To go even further, I will say that some other novels By Carlos Ruiz Zafon have been recommended to me, so I will most definitely check those out as well.

IMG_0327resize

2. Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

I was very curios to read this novel written by vlogger and Youtuber, Zoe Sugg, better known to her fans as Zoella. I knew that her popularity would be a huge advantage in the sales, and I wasn’t wrong! It was the fastest selling novel in 2014, and it broke the record for the highest first week sales for a debut writer. I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by the novel; very easy to read (I finished it in a couple of days), funny, with likable characters, travels, love stories etc. Even though I kind of find the love story between Penny and Noah a little unrealistic, (he s every girl’s Prince Charming, isn’t he?) the plot of friendship, and how to deal with anxiety, cyber bullying and overcoming your fears, teach the readers that they should have confidence in themselves and trust that everything will get better. Eventually, everything works out. For those of you who have read and loved the book, rejoice! A second novel will appear in November, if I am not mistaken.

IMG_0323resize

  • Currently Reading – The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

The book that I am currently reading is The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling’s pseudonym), a very interesting and captivating detective story! The reason I why chose to include it in this post, is because, even though I haven’t finished reading, it has already hooked me! All the clues and details will lead to what I believe will be a surprising and rewarding reveal! Just for you to see how much I like this book, I was super excited to learn that there is a sequel following Cormoran Strike’s adventures, called The Silkworm. Can’t wait to read that as well!!

I definitely plan to make more of these book reviews in the future, because I enjoy reading a lot, I love to recommend to you some of the books that I like and think that you would as well.  What books are you currently reading? Have you read the ones I mentioned? (If yes, what did you think about them?) Thank you so much for taking the time to read this blog post, and I will catch up with you very soon!

IMG_0318resize

Lots of love and hugs,

Nico

 

7 thoughts on “Marina & Girl Online – Book Reviews

  1. Great books you have there!! 😀 Since I was curious about Zoella, I’ve also read Girl Online and found it pretty cute (a little too much at times). Although it is said that it might have been written by a ghostwriter, I went onwards without thinking about that detail.
    I am really excited about reading some books of Robert Galbraith! I’ve heard many good things about the Cuckoo’s Calling and I hope to get to it soon. I can say the same thing about Zafon’s books.

    Happy reading! 😀 ❤

    Like

    • I heard the ghostwriter thing as well before reading, but I just wanted to see what the hype surrounding the book was all about! I agree, sometimes it became a little too unrealistically cute for my liking, but a fun and easy read, nonetheless. I can see why it appealed to so many people, especially younger folks.

      Concerning Galbraith and Zafon, I full heartedly recommend them! Very well thought out and written books!
      Thank you for taking the time to read the post! ❤ 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

