The Collector & The Hobbit – Book Reviews

Hello everyone, since I haven’t written about books on this blog for a while now, I thought I would let you guys know what my latest readings have been. The last two books I read were The Collector by John Fowels, and The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien. Hope this post will help you decide, without giving any spoilers, if you want to read them for yourselves in the future!

IMG_3476resize

The Collector – John Fowels

I first heard about this novel during my uni classes, and the plot made me to instantly want to read it and find out more. The story goes like this: Frederick Clegg, a butterfly collector with several psychological issues, kidnaps Miranda, a beautiful, young, aspiring artist, and takes her to his remote home, where he keeps her hostage for quite some time. The novel follows their interactions, and her multiple attempts at escaping, narrated from both his and her perspective, in a suspenseful and captivating novel, which I thoroughly enjoyed. I managed to read it quite fast, since it is very easy to go through. I will not spoil the ending, so I am not going to mention too much about it, except that it was somewhat predictable, but at the same time, full of suspense. It makes you think about a lot of things. This novel can be categorized as horror, or thriller.

IMG_3459resize

The Hobbit – J.R.R Tolkien

This book was perfect for December and Christmas time! As I did not have too much time to read during that month, I felt that The Hobbit was exactly what I needed (my first thought was to read Harry Potter again, but The Hobbit was a close second, so I decided to go with it instead). Watched the three movies first, so when I saw that they based them on this relatively small book, my reaction was WTF? Obviously, they introduced a lot of new plots, many of which I was not really fond of, but the novel itself was such a relaxing, captivating, imaginative reading. I am amazed by how writers like J.R.R. Tolkien can have such big imagination and create these huge universes, full of mythology and fantastic creatures. I feel that, out of all genres of books, fantasies are definitely on of my top picks whenever I need something to pull me out of everyday problems. But enough about that, The Hobbit follows the adventures of Bilbo Baggins and the company of dwarves, led by Thorin Oakenshield, in their pursuit to retrieve the treasure stolen and kept by Smaug, the dragon. I have to admit, as I have said before, that I prefer the story line of the novel, rather than all the extra stuff added in the movies. All in all,  a great read, and , for all I have criticized the movie, I am glad that they adapted it into the movies! ❤

IMG_3483resize

To Read: All Those Things We Never Said – Marc Levy

This is a book that my boyfriend recommended me, and it is the next on the list. I have absolutely no idea what it is about, and that is because I don’t want it to be spoiled. If you want, I will let you guys know what I thought about it in a future post!

 

So that is it for this post! I really hope you’ve enjoyed it, and maybe I have provided you with some ideas on what to read in the future! If you want to follow me on social media, you can find me on:

Instagram @ https://instagram.com/nicoletadragoi/

Twitter @ https://twitter.com/NicoDragoi

Facebook  @ https://www.facebook.com/smileloveliveforever

Until the next blog post,

Lots of love and kisses and hugs,

Nico!

4 thoughts on “The Collector & The Hobbit – Book Reviews

  1. Awesome books! I would like to read the book written by Marc Levy! It sounds interesting. I’ve read “Hoțul de umbre” by Marc Levy and it was a nice read, but not as good as I had expected it to be. I want to try out more of his books and see if he inspires me.

    Oh, I am glad to hear that you liked reading “The Hobbit”! It is one of my favourite childhood books, and I loved the old translation. I also have the illustrated book, and it looks really awesome. The translation is not as profound as the old one, but it is nice. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t read a book written by Marc Levy yet, so I hope I will like this one! Also, yeah, The Hobbit is amazing, I love the universe of this series! I was a big fan of Harry Potter and The Lord of the Rings when I was younger, so this kinda took me back to my childhood!

      Like

Leave a Reply

